Mombi is the brainchild of Matthew Herron, Toast Beherenhausen and myself. With Mombi we combine damaged beats with live drumming, layers of synths and guitars with instrumental passages both electronic and organic. Check out our albums below.


Turning Witch EP


1. Deaf Canyon

2. Rain Schadow

3. Turning Witch

4. A Crane into the Sun

5. Wyre Trip



The EP was recorded and mixed by Alan Weatherhead (Sparklehorse, Denali, Gregor Samsa) and mastered by Rafael Anton Irisarri (The Sight Below, Orcas). All five songs are solid, weighty pieces juxtaposing beautiful buildups and energetic releases. Standout track “Rain Schadow” gets its foundation from recorded samples of tapped beer glasses, and propels forward with a dancing bass line and synthesizer hook. The more stripped-down “Crane into the Sun” features softly plucked nylon guitars and intimate vocal takes by Smith, while
title track “Turning Witch” builds tension through three minutes of subdued beauty, before finally giving way to swirls of gnarled guitar and heavy drums.




The Wounded Beat


1. Monsoon

2. Time Goes

3. Glowing Beatdown

4. The Misunderstanding

5. Cascade Cliffs (Looking Down)

6. Fort

7.  More Coal for the Miners and More Meals to be Given Out

8. A General Map of Love



The Wounded Beat was recorded and mixed by Keith Kenniff (Helios, Goldmund),  mastered by Taylor Deupree @ 12k and released on Luxembourg based label Own Records.


Press for The Wounded Beat:


“A really appealing band with serious potential and talent, Mombi is the sound of a tear-soaked night that only makes you feel better and better.”
— Pop Matters


“At times helpless and quiet, at times terrifyingly beautiful, at times drowsy and full of angst, Mombi’s music feels like staring at an absurd scene in a dream through a frosty windowpane.”

—Art Star (Austria)